Sunday, March 25, 2012

2854.txt

cc: <m.allen1atXYZxyzsics.ox.ac.uk>, <tbarnett-ulatXYZxyzd.edu>, <N.GillettatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <P.JonesatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <kenyonatXYZxyze.edu>, <knuttiatXYZxyzmate.unibe.ch>, <Tom.KnutsonatXYZxyza.gov>, <nozawa@nies.go.jp>, <nychka@cgd.ucar.edu>, <tebaldi@rap.ucar.edu>, <santer1atXYZxyzl.gov>, <rlsatXYZxyzil.unc.edu>, <stonedatXYZxyz.ox.ac.uk>, <peter.stottatXYZxyzoffice.gov.uk>, <MFWehneratXYZxyz.gov>, "Zwiers,Francis [Ontario]" <francis.zwiersatXYZxyzgc.ca>, <hvonstorchatXYZxyz.de>, <Thomas.R.KarlatXYZxyza.gov>, <Anjuli.BamzaiatXYZxyzence.doe.gov>, <christopher.d.milleratXYZxyza.gov>
date: Sat, 28 Apr 2007 05:02:53 -0400
from: "Zhang,Xuebin [Ontario]" <Xuebin.ZhangatXYZxyzgc.ca>
subject: Re: 3 things, please reply by May 2
to: <dkarolyatXYZxyzedu>, <hegerlatXYZxyze.edu>

Hi, Gabi

I agree with what David said here. The dates that are good for David also work for me.

I just come back (still at Paris airport) from Congo.

Cheers
Xuebin
----------------------
Dr. Xuebin Zhang
Research Scientist
Climate Research Division
Environment Canada
416 739 4713


----- Original Message -----
From: David Karoly <dkarolyatXYZxyzsby.metr.ou.edu>
To: Gabi Hegerl <hegerlatXYZxyze.edu>
Cc: myles <m.allen1@physics.ox.ac.uk>; Tim Barnett <tbarnett-ul@ucsd.edu>; Nathan Gillett <n.gillett@uea.ac.uk>; Phil Jones <p.jones@uea.ac.uk>; Jesse Kenyon <kenyon@duke.edu>; Reto Knutti <knutti@climate.unibe.ch>; Tom Knutson <Tom.Knutson@noaa.gov>; Toru Nozawa <nozawa@nies.go.jp>; Doug Nychka <nychka@cgd.ucar.edu>; Claudia Tebaldi <tebaldi@rap.ucar.edu>; Ben Santer <santer1@llnl.gov>; Richard Smith <rls@email.unc.edu>; Daithi Stone <stoned@atm.ox.ac.uk>; Stott, Peter <peter.stott@metoffice.gov.uk>; Michael Wehner <MFWehner@lbl.gov>; Zhang,Xuebin [Ontario]; Zwiers,Francis [Ontario]; Hans von Storch <hvonstorch@web.de>; Thomas R Karl <Thomas.R.Karl@noaa.gov>; Bamzai, Anjuli <Anjuli.Bamzai@science.doe.gov>; Chris Miller <christopher.d.milleratXYZxyza.gov>
Sent: Wed Apr 25 18:47:01 2007
Subject: Re: 3 things, please reply by May 2

Hi Gabi,

2) I think that the new coordinated model experiments should have high
resolution runs starting in 1970 (giving more than 30 years of obs data
for d&a analysis) and running until 2040. We want to also stress that we
would like different forcing combinations at least for the
1970-2005/2010 period, to allow attribution to different forcings.
The high resolution runs need to NOT be cold start but to be spun up
either from observed ocean data or from lower resolution coupled ocean
atmosphere runs with data assimilation.
Also, for lower resolution, we need to have some runs starting in 1880
or 1900.

If we don't have long control runs at high resolution to estimate
climate variability, we may need more ensemble members, or clever ways
to estimate decadal climate variability.

We should also make some IDAG recommendations on the specific variables
that should be saved that are in addition or different from the current
ones on the AMIP CMIP3 archive, like monthly mean Tmin and Tmax, or
daily near surface specific humidity, as well as high time and space
resolution surface and upper air data etc.

Gabi, I can't go to the WGCM meeting in Hamburg in 3-5 September, as I
have other meetings in Oz and the US around this time. Will you be able
to go, as it will be important that the d&a community is represented there.

3) In terms of dates, I will likely be in the US for the AMS annual mtg
during 20-24 January in New Orleans. If I stay in the US, I would prefer
the IDAG mtg to be as early in Feb as possible, around 9 Feb, or as late
in March as possible if I go back to Oz in between.

Best wishes, David

Gabi Hegerl wrote:
> Hi IDAG people,
>
> Three things:
>
> Jesse has put the collection of powerpoints from our meeting
> (those that people were not uncomfortable to
> share) on a webpage, instructions below, you are welcome to find talks and get them.
>
> Secondly, I attach Jerry Meehls writeup on the planned AR5 experiments, it would be
> helpful if we could comment on them as group. Please send comments to me, and I will
> collect and circulate our group reaction before sending to Jerry. My personal view is
> that the high-res near future runs are a great idea, but should start early enough for
> us to do some high res attribution, so eg 30-50 years over the 20th before going into
> 21rst.
>
> Also, Doug says that if we would soon decide on our next meeting timing, we may be able
> to get a particularly attractive location at NCAR (forgot what its called). We tentatively
> planned some 3 day window between February 8 to march 16. Myles points out that
> Brits wanting to bring kids would do well with dates on either side of the weekend
> 16-17 February for the Southern part, and 9-18 for the Northern part (which is when school
> is out).
>
> Greetings
>
> Gabi
>

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Dr David Karoly
Williams Chair and Professor of Meteorology
School of Meteorology, National Weather Center
University of Oklahoma phone: +1-405-325-6446
120 David L. Boren Blvd., fax: +1-405-325-7689
Norman, OK 73072-7307 email: dkarolyatXYZxyzedu
USA http://weather.ou.edu/~dkaroly/Personal.htm
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

No comments:

Post a Comment