Sunday, April 8, 2012

3175.txt

date: Sat, 01 Nov 2003 13:50:38 -0500
from: "Michael E. Mann" <mannatXYZxyzginia.edu>
subject: E&E paper responses
to: cfk@lanl.gov, berger@astr.ucl.ac.be, ammann@ucar.edu, david@atmos.washington.edu, davet@atmos.colostate.edu, wuebbles@atmos.uiuc.edu, dshindell@giss.nasa.gov, gavin@isis.giss.nasa.gov, drdendro@ldeo.columbia.edu, druidrd@ldeo.columbia.edu, mcane@ldeo.columbia.edu, thompson.3@osu.edu, thompson.4@osu.edu, dstahle@uark.edu, dmeko@ltrr.arizona.edu, alexeyk@ldeo.columbia.edu, tswetnam@ltrr.arizona.edu, gzielinski@maine.edu, dstahle@uark.edu, woodhous@ngdc.noaa.gov, joos@climate.unibe.ch, hegerl@acpub.duke.edu, meehl@ncar.ucar.edu, jlean@ssd5.nrl.navy.mil, hpollack@umich.edu, hugo@stfx.ca, jouzel@lsce.saclay.cea.fr, jhansen@giss.nasa.gov, jan.esper@wsl.ch, jcole@geo.arizona.edu, jhc@dmi.dk, juerg@giub.unibe.ch, jto@u.arizona.edu, jri@glos.ac.uk, j.haigh@ic.ac.uk, walsh@atmos.uiuc.edu, jfbmitchell@metoffice.com, jls@princeton.edu, penner@umich.edu, juerg.beer@eawag.ch, trenbert@ucar.edu, kcobb@gps.caltech.edu, loutre@astr.ucl.ac.be, claussen@pik-potsdam.de, marty.hoffert@nyu.edu, huberm@purdue.edu, glantz@ucar.edu, mprather@uci.edu, omichael@Princeton.EDU, mlatif@ifm.uni-kiel.de, myles.allen@physics.ox.ac.uk, ckfolland@meto.gov.uk, desanker@virginia.edu, Peter.stott@metoffice.com, Peter.Laut@fysik.dtu.dk, pth@dmi.dk, anthes@ucar.edu, mhughes@ltrr.arizona.edu, rbradley@geo.umass.edu, ralley@essc.psu.edu, Richard.Moss@pnl.gov, seager@ldeo.columbia.edu, dunbar@stanford.edu, robert.berner@yale.edu, Ronald.Stouffer@noaa.gov, td@gfdl.gov, sfbtett@metoffice.com, s.raper@uea.ac.uk, sgw@atmos.washington.edu, shs@stanford.edu, sburns@geo.umass.edu, ssolomon@al.noaa.gov, cubasch@zedat.fu-berlin.de, Hans.von.Storch@gkss.de, neu@sanw.unibe.ch, vramanathan@ucsd.edu, vr@gfdl.noaa.gov, wmunk@ucsd.edu, peltier@atmosp.physics.utoronto.ca, peter@ldeo.columbia.edu, dkaroly@ou.edu, santer1@llnl.gov, robock@envsci.rutgers.edu, rsomerville@ucsd.edu, HCullen@weather.com, david.parker@metoffice.com, harvey@cirque.geog.utoronto.ca, rbierbau@umich.edu, keith.alverson@pages.unibe.ch, mark.eakin@noaa.gov, jtkon@ncar.ucar.edu, jmahlman@ucar.edu, tbarnett@ucsd.edu, rwatson@worldbank.org, chairipcc@teri.res.in, sasha@ucsd.edu, natasha@atmos.uiuc.edu, schlesin@atmos.uiuc.edu, masson@lsce.saclay.cea.fr, mehta@climate.gsfc.nasa.gov, Donald.L.Anderson@maine.gov, knutti@climate.unibe.ch, stocker@climate.unibe.ch, weaver@ocean.seos.uvic.ca, ottobli@ucar.edu, tcrowley@duke.edu, gmcbean@julian.uwo.ca, henry.hengeveld@ec.gc.ca, elizabeth.bush@ec.gc.ca, francis.zwiers@ec.gc.ca, Douglas.whelpdale@ec.gc.ca, john.stone@ec.gc.ca, christopher.d.miller@noaa.gov, dverardo@nsf.gov, j.salinger@niwa.co.nz, Barrie.Pittock@csiro.au, m.hulme@uea.ac.uk, n.nicholls@bom.gov.au, mannatXYZxyzginia.edu

Dear Colleagues,
Tim Osborn, Keith Briffa, and Phil Jones of the University of East Anglia have posted a
commentary on the
recent paper by McIntyre and McKitrick (Energy and Environment, 14, 751-771, 2003) which
claimed to provide an "audit" of the analysis of Mann, Bradley and Hughes (Nature, 392,
779-787, 1998; hereafter MBH98), with a link to our response to the paper here:
[1]http://www.cru.uea.ac.uk/~timo/paleo/
I imagine that the additional information provided will place a very different perspective
on the matter.
Please feel free to forward this information to anyone who you feel might benefit from it.
Best regards,
Mike Mann

______________________________________________________________
Professor Michael E. Mann
Department of Environmental Sciences, Clark Hall
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA 22903
_______________________________________________________________________
e-mail: mannatXYZxyzginia.edu Phone: (434) 924-7770 FAX: (434) 982-2137
[2]http://www.evsc.virginia.edu/faculty/people/mann.shtml

No comments:

Post a Comment