Friday, April 27, 2012

3545.txt

date: Mon, 28 Oct 2002 09:41:01 -0000
from: "Paul Hunter" <paul.hunteratXYZxyz.ac.uk>
subject: RE: health, environment funds
to: "'Bettina Menne'" <BMEatXYZxyz.it>, "'Roger Few'" <R.FewatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <t.mitchellatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <s.dessaiatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <nick.brooksatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <s.dorlingatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <I.LakeatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <R.Teck@uea.ac.uk>, <e.tompkinsatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <R.WarrenatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <I.HandohatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <Franziska.Matthies@urz.uni-heidelberg.de>, "'Edwards'" <Sally.edwards@lshtm.ac.uk>, <Ben.ArmstrongatXYZxyztm.ac.uk>, <Diarmid.Campbell-LendrumatXYZxyztm.ac.uk>, "'Kovats'" <Sari.kovats@lshtm.ac.uk>, <Paul.WilkinsonatXYZxyztm.ac.uk>, <m.hulmeatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <h.j.schellnhuberatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, "'Martens'" <p.martensatXYZxyzs.unimaas.nl>, <g.benthamatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <a.watkinsonatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <p.jonesatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <P.BrimblecombeatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, <kropp@pik-potsdam.de>, <johnpageatXYZxyzvshef.freeserve.co.uk>, <m.livermoreatXYZxyz.ac.uk>, "'Haines'" <Andy.haines@lshtm.ac.uk>, "'Hajat'" <Shakoor.hajat@lshtm.ac.uk>

I would also be very interested in working with anyone on the human health impact of
flooding. I have chaired an interdepartmental group involved in developing guidance on
reducing the impact on health of flooding in the UK and can provide particular expertise in
the development of health surveillance systems and the analysis of data from surveillance.



Paul

Paul R Hunter
Professor of Health Protection
European Editor - Journal of Water and Health
School of Medicine, Health Policy and Practice
University of East Anglia
Norwich NR4 7TJ England
Telephone + 44 1603 591004 / 593061
Fax + 44 1603 593752
email paul.hunteratXYZxyz.ac.uk
www.med.uea.ac.uk

-----Original Message-----
From: Bettina Menne [mailto:BME@who.it]
Sent: Friday, October 25, 2002 06:11
To: 'Roger Few'; t.mitchell@uea.ac.uk; s.dessai@uea.ac.uk; nick.brooks@uea.ac.uk;
s.dorling@uea.ac.uk; I.Lake@uea.ac.uk; R.Teck@uea.ac.uk; e.tompkins@uea.ac.uk;
R.Warren@uea.ac.uk; I.Handoh@uea.ac.uk; Franziska.Matthies@urz.uni-heidelberg.de; Edwards;
Ben.Armstrong@lshtm.ac.uk; Diarmid.Campbell-Lendrum@lshtm.ac.uk; Kovats;
Paul.Wilkinson@lshtm.ac.uk; m.hulme@uea.ac.uk; h.j.schellnhuber@uea.ac.uk; Martens; Bettina
Menne; g.bentham@uea.ac.uk; a.watkinson@uea.ac.uk; p.jones@uea.ac.uk;
P.Brimblecombe@uea.ac.uk; kropp@pik-potsdam.de; johnpage@univshef.freeserve.co.uk;
paul.hunter@uea.ac.uk; m.livermore@uea.ac.uk; Haines; Hajat
Subject: RE: health, environment funds

Dear Roger,



please contact Kris Ebi ([1]krisebi@epri.com), she might give you more indications with
regard to NIH calls. I am interesting into flooding in Russia and/NIS countries



Good luck

Bettina

-----Original Message-----
From: Roger Few [mailto:R.Few@uea.ac.uk]
Sent: 25 October 2002 16:11
To: t.mitchell@uea.ac.uk; s.dessai@uea.ac.uk; nick.brooks@uea.ac.uk; s.dorling@uea.ac.uk;
I.Lake@uea.ac.uk; R.Teck@uea.ac.uk; e.tompkins@uea.ac.uk; R.Warren@uea.ac.uk;
r.few@uea.ac.uk; I.Handoh@uea.ac.uk; Franziska.Matthies@urz.uni-heidelberg.de;
Sally.Edwards@lshtm.ac.uk; Ben.Armstrong@lshtm.ac.uk; Diarmid.Campbell-Lendrum@lshtm.ac.uk;
Sari.Kovats@lshtm.ac.uk; Paul.Wilkinson@lshtm.ac.uk; m.hulme@uea.ac.uk;
h.j.schellnhuber@uea.ac.uk; P.Martens@ICIS.unimaas.nl; BME@who.it; g.bentham@uea.ac.uk;
a.watkinson@uea.ac.uk; p.jones@uea.ac.uk; P.Brimblecombe@uea.ac.uk; kropp@pik-potsdam.de;
johnpage@univshef.freeserve.co.uk; paul.hunter@uea.ac.uk; m.livermore@uea.ac.uk;
Andy.Haines@lshtm.ac.uk; shakoor.hajat@lshtm.ac.uk
Subject: health, environment funds

Dear All



It was good to meet many of you at the climate-health workshop last week. Can you
please amend my email address in the list Tim circulated to the new one: [2]r.few@uea.ac.uk



Two further points:

a) There's another big funding source that may be of interest to the Coop - the US National
Institute of Health (NIH). One of their recent Calls I note is on Health, Environment
and Economic Development, focussing on research in developing countries. It expects
inter-disciplinary projects (team should have at least 1 social scientist, 1 health/biomed
scientist and 1 environmental scientist) and international collaboration with dev. country
partners. Does anyone have any insights/comments re. this source? [deadline for letter of
intent is 30/11 & for application is 30/12].

[3]http://grants2.nih.gov/grants/guide/rfa-files/RFA-TW-03-005.html



b) Does anyone have a potentially active interest in the research topic I've suggested on
micro-scale adaptations/coping responses to the health impacts of flooding in low-income
populations? Or concrete suggestions on how to widen/strengthen the topic?



Yours

Roger





Dr Roger Few
Overseas Development Group
University of East Anglia
Norwich NR4 7TJ
UK
Tel.+44 1603 593678
Fax.+44 1603 591170
Email. [4]r.few@uea.ac.uk

No comments:

Post a Comment