Monday, May 7, 2012

3926.txt

date: Wed, 13 Nov 1996 16:02:56 -0700
from: sdriatXYZxyzi.ubc.ca (John Robinson)
subject: Follow-up from IEA meeting
to: alcamo@usf.uni.kassel-de, andre@cerfacs.fr, pdg8@york.ac.uk, baron@iea.org, behinger@eawag/ch.sdri.ubc.ca, Klima@post.uni-bielefeld.de, brassel@informatik.uni-hoblaz.de, isr@nwo.nl, Jean-Yves.Caneill@der.edfgdf.fr, cariolle@meteo.fr, carraro@vega.unive.it, chanin@aerov.jussieu.fr, michele.chevrel@cnes.fr, energy@endadak.gn.apc.org, dahinden@eawag.ch, gouvello@cired.msh-paris.fr, hd10@andrew.cmu.edu, Tom.Downing@ecu.ox.ac.uk, gregor@eawag.ch, ed@ifs.th-darmstadt.de, ja_edmonds@ccmail.pnl.gov, jlf@medias1.cst.cnes.fr, silvio.funtowicz@jrc.it, reyer.gerlagh@ivm.vu.nl, godard@cired.msh-paris.fr, clair.gough@jrc.it, ehaites@hookup.net, ucc-khal@risoe.dk, hoekstra@mta5.kema.nl, HSlee@ccmail.KEEI.RE.KR, hourcade@msh-paris.fr, m.hulme@uea.ac.uk, HJacoby@mit.edu, jaeger@iiasa.ac.at, jaeger@eawag.ch, journe@alize.msh-paris.fr, kasemir@eawag.ch, marcel.kok@rivm.nl, krueck@soz01.soziologie.uni-bielefeld.de, aie02002@ufrj.br, Angela.Liberatore@DG12.cec.be, alier@cc.uab.es, matarass@msh-paris.fr, gerard.megie@aero.jussieu.fr, melieres@glaciog.grenet.fr, Paul.Mensink@Alg.SHHK.WAU.NL, L.A.Meyer@ie.dgm.minvrom.nl, morais@igbp.kva.se, t-morita@nies.go.jp, nagano@criepi.denken.or.jp, naki@iiasa.ac.at, martin.OConnor@c3ed.uvsq.fr, briano@edf.org, Pahl@eawag.ch, s.parkinson@surrey.ac.uk, mparry@geography.ucl.ac.uk, tparson@ksgrsch.harvard.edu, scpeck@eprinet.epri.com, ipeters@tellus.com, petit@polytechnique.fr, phili@mail3.imaginet.fr, lpr@adc.coppe.ufrg.br, ap@medias.cst.cnes.fr, 100105.2516@compuserve.com, sf_rayner@ccmail.pnl.gov, r.richels@msm.epri.com, uextern8@trauco.colomsat.net.co, Rotmans@un.org, Royer@medias1.cst.cnes.fr, boisson@sc.uni-montp1.fr, andrea.saltelli@jrc.it, schuele@ifs.th-darmstadt.de, shukla@iimahd.ernet.in, g.sims@waikato.ac.nz, j.f.skea@sussex.ac.uk, YSokona@ndar.enda.sn, jswager@unfccc.de, rob.swart@rivm.nl, richard.tol@ivm.vu.nl, toth@pik-potsdam.de, truffer@eawag.ch, tuinstra@iiasa.ac.at, van.asselt@eawag.ch, Jeroens@nwsmail.chem.ruu.nl, vdst@belspo.be, pier.vellinga@ivm.vu.nl, daniel.vidal-madjar@cetp.cpsl.fr, vorsatzd@ceu.hu, rwatson@worldbank.org, john.weyant@leland.stanford.edu, Wieringa@eea.dk, markuu.wilenius@helsinki.fi, haw@environ.se, c.baker@lancaster.ac.uk

To: All participants in the IEA Workshop, Toulouse, France, October 24-26, 1996

From: John B. Robinson, Sustainable Development Research Institute,
University of British Columbia

Recalling Pier Vellinga's during our meeting in Toulouse about the need to
analyse visions of alternative futures, I thought you might be interested
in the recent book, _Life in 2030_ described below. As far as I know, this
is the most detailed attempt to create and evaluate a scenario of what a
sustainable society might look like in the future. I would be pleased to
receive your comments.


====

Life in 2030: Exploring a Sustainable Future for Canada, by John B.
Robinson, David Biggs, George Francis, Russel Legge, Sally Lerner, Scott
Slocombe and Caroline Van Bers.

Life in 2030 spells out a coherent, practical and above all, optimistic
vision of a sustainable future for Canada in the next century. Written in
the form of a "future history", as if its authors were living in 2030, the
book outlines the changes to Canada's culture, industries, institutions and
natural environment from the present to a more sustainable 21st century.
The book is based on a five year research project led by John Robinson
where future scenarios were developed using an integrated modelling system
based on an extensive Statistics Canada database. The vision presented in
the book does not predict the most likely future, but encourages us to
envision our own version of a future sustainable society and its
implications.

Available from UBC Press. $25.95 softcover, $65.00 harcover (Canadian
dollars) Add $5 for shipping.

6344 Memorial Road
Vancouver, British Columbia
CANADA V6T 1Z4

Tel: 604.822.5959
Fax: 1-800-668-0821
email: ordersatXYZxyzpress.ubc.ca



John B. Robinson
Sustainable Development Research Institute, University of British Columbia,
B5 2202 Main Mall, Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z4, Canada
Tel: 604 822 8198 fax: 604 822 9191 e-mail: sdriatXYZxyzi.ubc.ca


No comments:

Post a Comment